Rome, Italy (Part 2)

Well, as indicated in my last post, here is Rome (Part 2)! I took so many photographs in the two day visit that it has been difficult to choose what to include! Makes me wonder if I actually saw anything with my eyes!

Before we get to the photographs, I just wanted to say that I started this blog as another way to ‘showcase’ my photography. I didn’t realize just how much I would enjoy the actual process of blogging itself, until I started ‘meeting’ and getting to know other bloggers, through their comments and visiting their blogs in return. I am also thoroughly enjoying looking through years of computer stored photographs, reminding myself of places and experiences, and selecting ones I hope you will like – not just ‘showcasing’. So, thank you to all the ‘blogging friends’ I have been making since the beginning of September!

Anyway, back to beautiful, glorious, historic Rome! If you have Google Earth, you can see 3D models of most of the places in the photographs in perspective on the map! It is superb! I hope you like this second set of photographs:

The Arch of Constantine I and The Colisseum

Titus Arch at the Entrance to the Roman Forum (Walking from the Colisseum)

View of the Roman Forum with the Arch of Septimius Severus in the centre

Castel Sant' Angelo - The Emperor Hadrian's Mausoleum

Beggar Woman at Castel Sant' Angelo

I was having my regular look at ‘Katie’s Camera Blog’ yesterday, and in her latest post ‘Cracks in the Fantasy that is Santa Fe’, she was commenting about the tourist economy of the city and how the population doesn’t seem to have a middle class. She comments on the gap between the extremely wealthy, who have moved into the area with new multi-million dollar homes, and the extremely poor, who live in hundred year old old generational homes with many jobs just to make ends meet. Katie loves where she lives and I think her photographs of Santa Fe are beautiful! I also agree with her when she says that the real Santa Fe is seen in the latter of the two ends of the financial scale! In responding to her comments, I had a bit of a rant about the major issue of the growing gap between wealth and poverty in the developed and third world. I suggested that in the current global financial crisis, governments should maybe be thinking about the opportunity of setting up a new World Financial System, based on sharing rather than greed – after all, there is enough food, clothing and medicine produced every year to feed, clothe and look after the health and welfare of every human being on the planet! I’m not saying that everyone should have the same standard of living, or be the same as everyone else; only that every human being should have the right to an agreed basic standard of living that no-one should be allowed to fall below! I said to Katie that I would be publishing the above photograph in ‘Rome, Italy (Part 2)’ as an example of wealth and poverty in the developed world. Yes, like all places around the world, beautiful, historical Rome is no exception! In the image we can see different levels of relative wealth and standard of living through: Hadrian’s historical lavish spending power in commissioning the Castel as a mausoleum for him and his family; to the tourists’ ability to spend on luxuries such as holidays, holiday clothes and cameras; to the beggar woman who has virtually no spending power whatsoever – and this is found all over the developed and third world! I hope you like the image Katie and you obviously struck a chord with the many people who commented on your post!

The Column of the Immaculate Conception

Roman Colosseum and Colourful Buildings

Spanish Steps Scaffolding - A Travelling Photographers' Nightmare!

Well, there we go! I hope you like this second set of images. My next Photo Post will concentrate on the Vatican City. If anyone would like to see further Venice posts or more photographs of any of the other places I have published so far, please just let me know! I would be happy to oblige!

Take care

John

11 thoughts on “Rome, Italy (Part 2)

    • Hi Manya – Nice to ‘meet’ you and thanks for the complement! Oh, you are just so lucky! Where are you going to be living and have you been there before? If Penny, my other half, had been ok with leaving her family behind, I would have chosen to live for a spell in either Italy or Switzerland! Both beautiful countries in their own right! I am really envious! Thanks for visiting my blog!

      Cheers

      John

  1. Great post, John! And I’m glad I got you thinking about the gap between rich and poor (although I can tell, it’s not the first time πŸ™‚ ). For anyone who wants to see the post that he’s referring to, you can see it here: http://katiescamerablog.wordpress.com/2011/11/09/cracks-in-the-fantasy-that-is-santa-fe/

    I agree with you, John. I think we have the power to clothe, feed, and give health care to everyone, but we like our stuff too much. And I run into people with money all the time, who think they are struggling, and in my mind, I think that a lot of people would like to be struggling like they are. So it’s different perceptions that people have. I just think, at least in the US, it’s all messed up and our thinking isn’t where it should be. It’s frustrating.

    As to more photos. Love Venice! πŸ™‚ Any photos of old things is good in my book. πŸ™‚ Like these photos too, John. Gorgeous. I think my favorite is the one with the Beggar Woman though. And how everyone just walks by her, which is how it is everywhere it seems. All that grotesque wealth, and she’s begging for money for food. There but for the grace of god go I. Maybe we should do political blogging instead of photos. πŸ˜‰

    • Hi Katie – Thanks for getting back to me and I have really enjoyed our banter! As a retired Headteacher/Principal of a school in my home town, Ripon, which is actually a small Cathedral City, I was once asked to take part in putting together the ‘2020 Vision’ for the city with members of the city council! I have to say that following that, there is no way I would get involved with politics or political blogging! The hot air that was produced would have filled many hot air balloons for many years! The way they work is fully democratic but unbelievably slow and often appears to be without sensible focus, working through all the outlandish ideas (without laughing) before coming up with the most sensible proposals! I couldn’t work that way! In a school there is a kind of democracy, but it is more like a cooperative dictatorship, with the Headteacher/Principal leading with a proposal to a way forward in an aspect of learning, listening to the opinions and ideas of other staff and children, and then making a decision which adopts the best option, which may or may not be the original idea of the Headteacher/Principal! Now, I can work with that! I could not work with the political meddling and infighting and waste of time, money and effort that goes on at alllevels of government, although that is a much truer form of democracy. Hmm, maybe I am a ‘political blogger’ after all! Ha! Ha! πŸ™‚ Yes, the wealth/poverty thing does get to me and I am glad there are so many others who think the same way! Well, I have to say, you unintentionally really got me going on that one, Katie, and I am very glad you did! It was good to make a point and as I said earlier, I have really enjoyed the banter! πŸ™‚

      Take care

      John

      • I’ve enjoyed this too, John! I was born and raised in the Washington, DC area, so politics is in my blood. I even have a year of Master’s study in political science but dropped out, as, well, I was bored, and I decided I couldn’t be a politician (the lying and game playing). But having a hard time economically in my life over the last five years has taken it’s toll, and I’m just so sick of what politics are today. it just seems so pointless and dealing with things that really don’t matter. Everything just seems so wrong, not only in politics, but just in general, it seems. At least in the U.S. (my perception, of course).

        I love that you were a discerning leader at your job. We could use more of that I think. We could use more of something I think. πŸ™‚ Like your blog, mine is new too, and I’ve never done anything like this, so it’s interesting how things change and the subjects that come up. I’m still trying to find my vision in my creative photography, so that’s very interesting also. A good thing in ways, that I can’t afford to travel, as it’s forcing me to really look into what I can see and see things creatively.

        That being said, I love visiting sites like yours which allows me to travel via my computer. And it brings back the days when I use to be that traveler. So thank you, John! Until the next post. πŸ™‚

    • Hi Dorothy – Thank you for your comment! It is much appreciated! Italy is a beautiful country in a very rough and ready, rustic, easy going sort of way, with a very varied landscape and history as you move from East to West and North to South. We have been lucky enough to travel widely across the country but still have lots to see! The sunshine is also a great motivator!

      Cheers

      John

    • Thanks, Karen – You find people begging like this all over Italy – someone said to me that they tend to be homeless people who have crossed borders from places like Bosnia and Croatia who were hoping for a better life. I was quite taken aback, however, I shouldn’t really have been because you find homeless people begging in towns and cities throughout the UK as well!

      Cheers

      John

Leave a Reply

