Vatican City (within Rome, Italy) – (Part 1)

I’ve had a bit of difficulty with the title of this post because I’m not sure about the ‘placing’ of the Vatican City! Is it ‘Vatican City, Rome, Italy’, or because it is a separate state in its own right, is it purely ‘Vatican City’? I will need to research this sometime. I have kept this post separate from Rome, Italy (Parts 1 & 2) to give it its ‘special status’, even though it is unlikely that touring visitors would see one without the other. The Vatican City is essentially made up of St Peter’s Basilica, St Peter’s Square and the Vatican buildings. Even though I do not subscribe to any particular religion, and look upon the whole natural world as a ‘church’, the history and stunning opulent beauty of the ‘city’ is fascinating.

{Side comment to Katie from Katie’s Camera Blog} If you happen to be reading this, Katie, I wonder how many of the world’s poor and destitute could be fed, clothed and sheltered by the wealth stored in all of the religious buildings around the world, and for how long? Maybe not just a governmental issue?

One thing I have found when travelling in Europe, is that photography is acceptable inside most museums, stately homes etc.  In the UK, taking inside photographs in these places is banned. The authorities say it is to protect artworks, antiquities, furniture, carpets etc. from too much light, but in that case, why do so many other countries seem to allow it? I find it a real pain in the neck because, even when we are abroad and people are snapping away inside churches, museums and houses like Versailles in France, I can’t bring myself to do the same! Too hidebound by habit dictated by convention in the UK!! The funny thing about this, and this is the reverse of what I have just been saying, is that when we visited the Vatican, people were snapping away and, as usual, I wasn’t! Then we got to the Sistine Chapel, where photography is banned! Even though there were signs and loudspeaker requests to stop taking photographs, everyone totally ignored them and carried on snapping – all except me that is! I have to say that I found it quite amusing! Just goes to show that either way round, habit is hard to break!

Anyway, before you get bored sick with my ramblings and leave before you see this post’s photographs, here they are. I hope you like them:

St Peter's Basilica from Via della Consiliazione

St Peter's Basilica, Via della Conciliazione and Street Vendor

St Peter's Basilica, St Peter's Square and one of its beautiful Fountains

A Detail of the outside of one of the Vatican Walls

A Detail of the Outside Vatican Walls

St Peter's Square and Obelisk taken from the steps of St Peter's Basilica

There is beautiful design and stunning architecture everywhere you go in Rome and in the Vatican City! Once again, if you have Google Earth, you can zoom in to the Vatican City and tilt the view to see the area and building models in 3D. It gives you a good feel for the layout of the place!

I intend to publish a second part to this post before the end of this week! I hope you like this post enough to have a look! Thanks!

Cheers

John

6 thoughts on “Vatican City (within Rome, Italy) – (Part 1)

  1. These are great images, and you line everything up perfectly (as an architectural photographer, I can really appreciate that). And I know! I’ve always been in museums in the US, where you can’t take photos either, so when I travel where you can, I feel bad about it, and I can’t bring myself to do it. What grand architecture there, John. You captured it so well and thank you for showing us!

    • Hi Katie – That’s high praise from a professional and I really appreciate everything you have said! Hope you saw the ‘Side Comment to Katie of Katie’s Camera Blog’ – another non-polictical, political statement! Can’t seem to help it! Ha! Ha!

      Take care

      John

  2. John, I’m the same as you!!! Although, the few places that I’ve visited in Europe, most of the museums and churches don’t allow photographs (or rather the use of flash)… I have very little photographs from insides of churches etc because of this reason… tons of noise, blur etc…. it saddens me to hear that people don’t respect the value of these priceless cultural/artistic assets!!! Great photos btw!! – – – as always!! – – – Keep well!!!

    • Thanks Xandre – I have to say, though, that I really don’t mind not taking pics in museums etc. Sometimes it is better to just look and experience the place in all its glory, and not mainly through photography. Even shooting outside, I find that I am so busy choosing, preparing and taking shots that, although I remember the places, there is a richness of experience missing from my memory – maybe you have the right idea and I need to buy a compact camera so that I can take photographs quickly and also have time to look? Enjoy your new camera by the way! Liked your ‘What to do the day after…’ post and the photos!

      Take care

      John

  3. I have a dream to visit this place someday. It’s so great, historical, and adventurous to the eyes. Thank for sharing your pictures. Great views and details 🙂

Leave a Reply

