Glencoe, Scotland

To many Scots, Glencoe is a foreboding place. The weather often makes the area inhospitable and I have visited with my camera a number of times to find grim, appalling weather to say the least! On this one occasion, I was lucky enough to be there on a beautiful, balmy afternoon! I hope you like the photographs!

The Pap of Glencoe (West side of the Glen)!

Glencoe is also the site of one of the most shameful episodes in Scottish history, the Massacre of Glencoe! It is the place where 38 men, women and children of the Clan MacDonald were murdered by troops of Clan Campbell, under the orders of Captain Robert Campbell of Glenlyon! Many more members of Clan MacDonald died of exposure as they tried to escape across the mountains in the dead of winter!

Moving further East into Glencoe!

The story goes that following the Jacobite rising, the English King, William of Orange, offered the Highland clans a pardon if they would take an oath to him which had to be signed in front of a sheriff by 1st January 1692. The chief of the MacDonalds, through no fault of his own, was late in signing the oath! The Master of Stair in Edinburgh, who was looking for an excuse to ‘make an example’ of one of the Highland clans, declined the late delivered oath and used it as an excuse to order the slaughter of Clan MacDonald! The English King signed the order for the massacre!

Halfway through Glencoe (South side of the Glen)!

One of the sickening aspects of the whole episode is that the Campbells arrived at Glen Coe as friends of the MacDonalds, and were given hospitality for 12 days before the massacre took place! Another is that as word of the massacre spread, the Government tried to cover up what had happened. In 1695, King William found himself in the position of having to launch an enquiry. Believe it or not, the Master of Stair resigned his position and was granted a Government pension. Captain Robert Campbell of Glenlyon died a year later and no-one was ever brought to trial for the massacre!

In the Heart of Glencoe (Looking south west)!

I understand how wars come about, and I understand fighting to defend your country, your beliefs or your way of life against an aggressor! I understand soldier fighting soldier! Where diplomacy has failed, there is no other viable option available to human beings to defend themselves against an aggressor! Sociologists would argue that for the human race, change and advancement always comes through conflict, whether it be through simple debate of opposing views or through violent conflict. However, I do not understand or comprehend the mindset of individuals, or groups of people, who can order and take part in massacre/genocide. The episode at Glencoe took place 320 years ago and history is littered with such events, right up to modern times. It is a damning indictment on the human race that when law and order either changes to make this form of behaviour acceptable, or breaks down altogether, there are still people who will ‘crawl out of the woodwork’ prepared to mass murder innocent men, women and children on utterly indefensible justifications! Whew! Got that one off my chest! It’s amazing what sparks off a good rant!

That's our Motorhome in Glencoe!

The East end of Glencoe (The start of Rannoch Moor)!

To end this post, I have an admission to make! I have to admit that four fellow bloggers have nominated me for the Versatile Bloggers Award since September 2011 and I have only just started a post to nominate my choices for that award! I have also recently been nominated for the Liebster Blog Award and the HUG Award! As a result, I have decided that the post will be published as ‘John’s Award Ceremony’ (What an original title!) that covers all three awards together! What is that I hear you say? All in one post? Yes, all in one post!! It is turning out to be quite a task, so I decided to take time out to publish this post, with photographs of Glencoe, Scotland! I hope you have enjoyed it!

See you next time!

John

21 thoughts on “Glencoe, Scotland

    • Thanks, Bob – You know, for a few very small islands, we have an amazingly varied landscape here in the UK! It’s only when I was 50 that we went abroad for the first time, and that was only as far as Paris, France! Previous to that, we spent our time travelling the length and breadth of the UK for our holidays! We were quite satisfied with that! Now, however, we want to see everyone else’s awesome scenery, and that includes the USA! Who knows? We might get there yet!

      Cheers

      John

  1. Somehow the idyllic scenery and the story are at odds with one another. The photographs are beautiful John and the history is tragic. It’s hard to ever imagine how things like that happen but you’re right, they still happen today.
    Unfathomable.

    • Hi Karen – You are absolutely correct! They are at odds with each other, and I hoped someone would pick up on the contrast! This was an unusual day in terms of the weather, and more often than not, the weather does match the history! Thanks for dropping by, Karen!

      Bye for now!

      John

  2. Well done for getting it off your chest so eloquently John…sadly humans have instincts that are base in the extreme and we need to be remineded of that.
    Love the last photo particularly with the single white house…glorious.

    • Hi Helen – Thanks for dropping by and for your comments! Sometimes it is extremely satisfying to just rant about something you feel strongly about! However, I am much more positive about the human race than it might seem. If I can adjust your statement slightly, I would say that some humans have instincts that are base in the extreme, but for every one of them (and it is unfortunate that sometimes they are the ones who get into power), I would argue that there are ‘many’ who are the opposite! Thanks for the complement about the photograph!

      Take care!

      John

    • Hi Becky – My other half, Penny, who I met all these years ago at Stirling University, comes from Arundel, which is near to the South Coast. When I first met her family, quite a number of them had never been north of Watford, and had no intention of ever venturing into the ‘wilderness’, as they called anything that was north of there! I was quite taken aback, and even today, some of them still haven’t come as far north as Ripon, never mind Scotland! You definitely want to visit Scotland with your camera, Becky! Make it the West Coast, all the way up to Skye and beyond! That is where you will find the best, most rugged scenery!

  3. Hi John!!!! Once again, your absence was well noticed… ;( What a set of gorgeous photographs for today’s post (have to admit that I’m only getting round to giving it my full attention now… 😦 ) But I love these photos… it’s exactly the picture that I have formed in my head of what Scotland looks like!!!! & a gritty story to go along with it…. (the two just don’t/shouldn’t fit)… very interesting!!!
    Congrats on all the awards!!!! Looking forward to your version of spreading it!!! 😀

    Have a fabulous day!!!
    Hugs!! 🙂 **

    • Hey Xandre! Along with three other bloggers, you nominated me for the VBA! You also nominated me for the Liebster and the HUGS awards! That makes them very valuable to me, because I look upon you as a good friend and we really enjoy each others posts! Thanks again, Xandre! Yes, Scotland is beautiful if you get the weather right! I have friends and colleagues down here in England who love Scotland, just because the times they have been there the weather has been good! Others have not been so lucky with the weather because the times they have been there have been misty, wet and windy, and they wouldn’t go back! I love it regardless and I think you would too! Loved your post on Tower Bridge, Xandre!

      See ya!

      John

  4. John

    I really like the last 2 in the series. The mountains are so much bigger than we the people and our little houses and cars. I’ve never been to your hometown but you are wanting me to come and explore for sure. What landscape and color. What are the temperatures like over there? They look livable for sure :). John, that last picture has me wanting to climb that mountain and take texture/abstract like photography of the gorgeous landscapes. Its pulling me in. Thanks for sharing.

    ~Todd

    • Thanks, Todd! Yep! You need to hop on a plane and visit Scotland! Shoot some really cool B/W images! The temperatures range from -25 degrees Centigrade (you will need to convert to Farenheit) at its extreme during winter to around 30 degrees C maximum at the other end of the scale in summer. On average I would say the range is from 0 to 22 degrees C during the year! It is a livable country but the weather is highly changeable throughout the year with more wind and rain than sunshine! You are very welcome, Todd, and thanks for dropping by!

      Cheers

      John

    • Hi Jocelyn – I am sure you are already aware that I have visited your smashing blog and left some comments, otherwise I wouldn’t know your name. Thanks for visiting and I hope you will come along again and have a look at some of my other photographs!

      Cheers

      John

Leave a Reply

