Glasgow, Scotland – Part 2

Last week, Penny (my other half) and I spent seven super days in freezing, cloudy, snowy and wet Scotland! If you follow my blog you will already know that Glasgow is my home city and that I like to return there from time to time to ‘touch base’ and to see what changes have taken place since my previous visits. Cities are very ‘fluid’ and change constantly and I like to ‘update my cranial map’ from time to time, to see what is still there, what has gone, and where the ‘old and new’ have been merged together to form new environments!

Last week’s visit was specifically to see a new iconic building that has been erected on derelict dockland, and we were not to be disappointed! The building is stunning both inside and out and fits well with the other ‘new’ buildings that have replaced redundant shipyards or dockyards in recent years! The building now houses the Glasgow Riverside Transport Museum which has been relocated from the Kelvin Hall.

This particular day was horrible weather wise, with a ‘nothing’ grey sky, which would have been washed out in colour photographs! So I chose to shoot in B/W, using a red filter to try to bring out any possible sky detail! Now, as you all know, I usually shoot in colour, so this is a new venture for me! I very much like B/W industrial, architecture and street photography but have never tried it for myself! All comments, criticisms and hints are welcome so that I can improve my B/W shooting!

So here are five of my new B/W images of Glasgow! I have tried to take photographs that show ‘change in progress’! I hope that you find them interesting:

Looking along the north side of the River Clyde Docklands looking East towards the City Centre!

This photograph is an example of the ‘mix’ that is Glasgow Docklands at the moment! In it you can see new and old buildings standing together and a mystery site in the foreground ready to be developed! The cranes in the distance are an indication of further building work nearer to the city centre!

The 'new' Science Museum and Observation Tower on the South Bank!

The Science Museum is designed to represent the hull of a boat lying on its side, and the Observation Tower represents a mast and sail. At one time, sailing ships lined the River Clyde in Glasgow, and my great grandfather was Captain of one of the vessels on the ‘clipper run’ between Glasgow and the Far East. His name was Captain Ebenezer Galt, which I think is a very fitting name for a sailing ship captain! In the foreground you can see one of the last surviving Paddle Steamers, the ‘Waverley’! This ship used to run between Glasgow and the towns around the Firth of Clyde, but now she travels around the country and abroad, giving as many people as possible the opportunity to sail on her. I remember taking a trip on the Waverley when I was a very young lad of 5 or 6 years of age, going to visit an aunt who lived in Hunter’s Quay, which lies next to the town of Dunoon! If you are interested, you can find these places on Google Earth!

Cranes at one of the few remaining working shipyards on the River Clyde!

A View to the West - Working shipyard, derelict land and new housing blocks!

This photograph is looking to the west, away from the city centre and out towards the areas of Partick and Clydebank. The famous John Brown’s Shipyard was located in Clydebank and I watched the QEII being built there in the early 1960s, when Glasgow was still world famous for shipbuilding! In fact, I was brought up in a tenement flat just behind the new blocks of flats. In the high resolution version of this photograph I can see the roof of my Primary School building just in front of the last block of high rise flats on the right of the photograph! You can see that many of the redundant and demolished dockyards have been replaced by new housing blocks, with much derelict dockland still waiting for development!

Finally, the new building we went to visit - the Glasgow Riverside Transport Museum!

Much of the new building along the River Clyde has been designed to make a statement about Glasgow’s Maritime Heritage and this building is no exception, with it’s jagged wave formations at the front and rear entrances, and the flowing curves of the general building design giving an impression of rolling wave formations!

If you would like to have a look at my initial Glasgow, ScotlandΒ post, please click on the link! Thank you for visiting my blog and I hope you will join me when we next visit Glasgow! Please feel free to explore any of my other posts by looking through the Archives on the right hand column and if you would like to receive e-mail notification of future posts (which are published on average once a week) please sign up at the top of the post also on the right hand column!

Cheers

John

29 thoughts on “Glasgow, Scotland – Part 2

  1. What a beautiful new beginning…Fantastic building and design…an award winner and something that I would love to see one day. Thank you for telling us about it and showing us these fantastic photographs!

  2. It is a stunning building! I enjoyed the tour, thanks John. And I do agree that the B&W worked very well in this series of photos. Good to have you back! πŸ™‚

    • Hi Zelmare – Nice to be back, thank you! Glad you enjoyed just a little bit of my home city, even though I wouldn’t want to live in any city nowadays (Ripon is a very small Cathedral City, but in reality it is just a small country town that happens to have a cathedral which is beautiful and can be seen from almost everywhere in the town)! I was a bit disappointed with how the first B/W photo displays in the post, because it looks as if it is out of focus. The high-res version is clear and sharp!

      Cheers

      John

    • Hi Lorna – Yes we did go inside the museum and that was also structurally amazing, however, I was disappointed with its use as a Transport Museum. In my opinion it would have been much better used as an Art Gallery. The way the vehicles were placed and displayed made me feel rather claustrophobic and the old cars and motorcycles were stacked in rows horizontally from floor to ceiling, which meant that it was impossible to identify anything above ground level and impossible to see any more than the one side of the cars. In the old Transport Museum, when it was at the Kelvin Hall, the vehicles were all in a large open space at ground level and were easily identified by their names and badges and you could wander round them to have a good look. In the old museum, there was also an upstairs area called the Clyde Room, where all the apprentice made, stunningly built replica models of all Clyde built ships were displayed in glass cases. There were only a few displayed in the new museum. I am sure that anyone who had not visited the old museum would think that it was wonderful! So, yes, I was amazingly stunned by the beauty of the building but disappointed in its use.

      • That is a great shame, but since I never saw the original one perhaps I wouldn’t be too disappointed by the new one. It’s quite unusual for museums to get it wrong these days, because they tend to be very slick with their layout and design. They’ve obviously put a lot of money into it, which makes it a bit of a tragedy really.

      • I’m sure you are right, Lorna, and remember that this is only my opinion – it isn’t necessarily the view of the masses – but you will love the building! Have a look at the other new buildings along the docksides when you go. Many of those are also impressive and by the way, the Transport Museum has a cafe! We couldn’t get in to try their wares during the Easter holiday because it was so busy!

        Cheers

        John

    • Sorry about the late reply, Jim! Been trying to catch up on other things since I came back from Scotland! Thanks for dropping by! It’s funny, but when you talk about your home city where you were brought up, you constantly come up with little pieces of your past that you haven’t thought about for years and sometimes it is nice to share them with others! The weather!!!!

      Cheers

      John

  3. I think the trip into B&W was very successful! πŸ˜€ The last photo, I particularly like – the sense of the imposing building, and grandeur and almost alien. – Nice job! πŸ˜€

    • Hi Becky – Thanks for your comment! πŸ™‚ In print form the photographs are all pin sharp but when I reduced the size of the first photograph and put it onto WordPress, it looks a bit blurry! Don’t know why this is the case? Yes, I agree with all of your statements about the Riverside Transport Museum! Thanks for the ‘Nice job’ comment! Penny said that it made me blush!!!

      Cheers

      John

      • Oh, only just saw this! Well you deserve it – love it! πŸ˜€ Hmm, that’s strange – what do you compress it with – mine “seem” to come out fine…

      • Hi Becky – Compressed in Photoshop. I have also posted a new Venice post today and I have solved the problem. In the Image Size box where you can enlarge or reduce size, I had clicked a box that resamples with sharpening, which meant that within the reduction it was trying to sharpen that what is already sharp and I have noticed that if you oversharpen photographs they do tend to take on a ghost round the edges of items which gives it a blurry look. The latest Venice photographs seem fine! Have a look! I would like to know what you think?

        Cheers

        John

  4. Wow John!! Great set of photos & story to pair!!! I am especially in love with the last building – it is veeeeeeeeeeeery impressive!!! Would love to see the glass facade in colour!!! But I do love all the photos in b/w!!! πŸ˜‰ **

    • Oh Piggies!!! I didn’t take any colour images of the frontage of the museum! Will definitely make sure I get some the next time I visit! Glad you liked the post! Hear from you when you get back from Canada!

      Cheers

      John

  5. Great images John, they are exceptional in black and white!
    l love the museum, your image is very striking.

    All the cranes make for very interesting images also. Beautiful!

    • Sorry for the delay in replying, Karen! I have been catching up on other stuff since I came back home! My mum, who is 83 years old and has lived with us for a few years in a ‘Granny Annex’ attached to our house, has deteriorated quite dramatically memory wise over the last few weeks and is also becoming physically very frail and much of my time has been taken up with her and trying to get some assistance for her. Unfortunately, my dad, who died when he was 73, was unable to make financial provision for my mum to be supported in her ‘dotage’ because he didn’t earn enough from his job to be able to do that, so we are now stuck picking up the pieces! My sister lives in Australia and I have no other brothers or sisters or any other family other than her – so I am stuck! Trying my best – it’s all I can do! Will catch up with your fabulous works when I can!

      Cheers

      John

  6. I think these images are beautifully captured John……the black and white works really well and enhances the structural elements in each photograph perfectly. The shapes are very interesting. Nice post πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

