Eiger, Monch and Jungfrau Mountains, Switzerland – Part 2

First of all, Christmas Greetings and best wishes to everyone for and a very happy and prosperous New Year in 2013!

When I think of Switzerland, I tend to think of mountains, snow, mountain railways, cable cars, incredible views and how long it will be until I can go back there! I quench my thirst with photographs! In this second look at photographs of the Eiger, Monch and Jungfrau Mountains, and the ‘Sphinx’ Scientific Station and Observatory, I hope you also get a taste of what a stunning place it is!

This first photograph should probably have been published at the beginning of Part 1 because it shows the Jungfrau Mountain and the ‘Sphinx’ taken from Interlaken Station. This hopefully puts our journey into better perspective!

Jungfrau Mountain at 11,00ft from Interlaken West Railway Station

Jungfrau Mountain at 11,00ft from Interlaken West Railway Station

Obviously, the mountain is covered in snow all year long! Looking to the left of the photograph, you can just about see the ‘Sphinx’ if you move your eyes down from the almost vertical ‘spacer’ that keeps the catenary cables apart to the ‘little bump’ on the mountain ridge! Yes, I know, you can’t make it out clearly but it can be seen in a high resolution printout of the image! It just gives you a better idea of where we were and where the photographs in these two posts were taken from! The great thing is that anyone can go there – by railway!!! Oh, by the way, the train sitting at the platform is the ICE Train which travels from Frankfurt to Interlaken!

The Monch Peak that separates the Eiger and the Jungfrau Mountains

The Monch Peak that separates the Eiger and the Jungfrau Mountains

The Great Aletsch Glacier

The Great Aletsch Glacier

This is the Aletsch Glacier viewed from the ‘Sphinx’ and it is the largest glacier in the Alps. It has a length of about 14 miles and covers more than 46 square miles. Its thickness is estimated to be nearly 3,300 ft.

To end this post, here are two photographs taken on the Jungfrau ridge near the ‘Sphinx’! The first is of the Jungfrau Mountain peak and a rather windblown/disintegrating Swiss flag! The second is of excited visitors out on the ridge at 11,000ft taking photographs of each other!!!

The Jungfrau Mountain Peak

The Jungfrau Mountain Peak

People, Cameras and Photography at 11,000ft! What could be better?

People, Cameras and Photography at 11,000ft! What could be better?

Thanks for visiting and please feel free to have a look around the blog and at some of my other posts! Why not ‘Bookmark’ me and come back anytime, or sign up for e-mail notification of new posts being published! Click here to see Eiger, Monch, Jungfrau Mountains, Switzerland – Part 1!

Cheers

John

11 thoughts on “Eiger, Monch and Jungfrau Mountains, Switzerland – Part 2

    • Thanks, Bob – The family have just left after Christmas and I have picked up the camera to try out the remote focus and release that Penny gave me for Christmas. It felt really good to have the camera back in my hands and on the tripod and I know it sounds crazy but I can feel the need to go out and take some shots! Yippee! Oh, sorry! That’s an american term, isn’t it? I should have said ‘Och Aye!’

      Cheers

      John

    • Hiya Becky – Thanks for dropping by! You seem to have been doing very well for yourself with your gig photography since March? Now! Important question! Which is becoming most important to you – Photography or Uni? I have seen some of your cracking work on 500px and your FB page and of course WordPress notifications, so have not been 100% out of the loop, even though I was not really able to reply! Ready for a good look at your work now – with comments of course! I actually picked up the camera today, trying out the remote focus and shutter release Penny got me for Christmas! It felt good after so long! Hope you had a good Christmas and that 2013 is everything you want it to be! Happy New Year, Becky!

      Cheers

      John

    • Hi Karen – Thanks for coming by for Part 2! Actually, I have never been too happy with the glacier shots taken from the Sphinx because I had to shoot directly south into the sunlight. If I had been able to be there earlier or later in the day I feel the shots would have been much sharper, would have had greater clarity, and a wider tonal range! Oh, well! Can’t have everything we want most of the time! Glad you liked them, Karen! Thanks! Have a good New Year, Karen, and may 2013 be everything you want it to be!

      Cheers

      John

    • Have you visited Switzerland, Jocelyne? How about mountains in Canada? They are much higher there I believe! There is just something about their immense form jutting out of the earth, particularly once you get above vegetation level to pure rock and snow! I was rather disappointed with the glacier shots because they were taken due south around the middle of the day and because of that, even with a UV filter, they are not as clear and sharp as I wanted them to be. The sky is not as deep blue as turning and facing north! However, sometimes you just have to take what you can get and enjoy them all the same!

      Cheers

      John

      • No, I never visited Switzerland and neither the Rocky mountains in Canada but I would love to. Maybe one day, who knows !
        It is so difficult to take pictures in the middle of the day when the sun shines bright. Maybe you could correct your photo with a photo editor like Color Efex Pro 4, they have different filters and you could add colour to the sky. Bye John !

      • Hi Jocelyne – I will have an internet search for this program and maybe try it out if they have a trial version for Mac. I do have Photoshop but I don’t find their filters very useful so I haven’t used them! Thanks, Jocelyne!

        Cheers

        John

Leave a Reply

