Venice, Italy – Part 4

I think it is about time for another trip to my favourite city in all the world, Venice! If I ever won the lottery, I would buy an apartment there so that I could fly back and forth whenever I wanted! I would love to visit Venice during ‘Carnivale’ in February, and I have seen some amazing photographs of Venetians dressed in the most elaborate masks and costumes, wandering about Venice posing for cameras during this period. I have seen the masks and costumes that are worn during ‘Carnivale’ displayed in shops dotted around the city, in back alleys, out of the tourist areas. The shop owners produce them on site and are happy for visitors to go in and have a look, watch them working, and buy their expensive wares, if you have the money to do so! Unfortunately, we have never been able to visit at this time of year, because having been the headteacher (principal) of a school, and Penny (my other half) being a teacher, we have never been able to have time off during term time! Maybe next year when we have both finished work? Anyway, here is a further selection of Venice photographs taken on a number of summer visits to the city! Hope you like them!

The City of Venice from the Venetian island of Lido.

The City of Venice from the Venetian island of Lido.

I have found that wide angle shots don’t always look as sharp as they should when displayed in a post. If you wish to see the sharper uploaded version just click on the photograph!

A lone gondolier in front of a Palazzo on the Grand Canal.

A lone gondolier in front of a Palazzo on the Grand Canal.

Venetian promenade lamp and a little girl trying to feed a pigeon - Sorry! They are too well fed in St Mark's Square!

Venetian promenade lamp and a little girl trying to feed a pigeon – Sorry Love! They are too well fed in St Mark’s Square!

Looking through two gondolas towards the church of San Giorgio Maggiore.

Looking through two gondolas towards the church of San Giorgio Maggiore on a stormy looking afternoon.

My beautiful wife, Penny, in Venice on the steps of Santa Maria Della Salute church with the Campanile in the background!

My beautiful wife, Penny, in Venice, on the steps of Santa Maria Della Salute church with the Campanile in the background!

As visitors who follow my blog will know, I often include Penny in the text part of my posts, so I thought you might like to see what she looks like!

Well, I have to say that putting this post together has got me wishing for a foreign holiday now! Maybe I should get the brochures out??? Hope you like the photographs! Thanks for visiting and hopefully I will meet you here again soon! You can see previous Venice posts and photographs by clicking on Venice, Venice, Italy – Another Visit, or More Venice, Please!. or by searching through my archives!

Cheers

John

12 thoughts on “Venice, Italy – Part 4

  1. I’ve wondered for a long time what Penny looks like!!! – Finally!! Thanks for showing us your other half John!!! I share your enthusiasm for Venice!! We went there this holiday for a day visit… it blew me away!!! my expectations were exceeded!!! Great special city!! 😀 **

    • I am very glad you managed to visit, if only for a day! Initially that was enough to hook me forever – I had caught the ‘Venice Visit Bug’! On your way back to SA sometime, you really want to spend three or four days there and actually hotel in the city! If you go out early morning or in the late afternoon/evening it is much quieter and you can see lots more! I hope you took photographs? Well, there you go! Penny looks great for a lady who is going to retire this year – albeit early retirement! She is my soul mate – always has been and always will be!

      Cheers

      John

    • There are so many places that I will also never visit, Bob; most of the world actually; but like you, I love seeing photographs of these places… and who knows what the future holds! We might win the lottery and just fly off, with people to pamper and look after us – wait a minute – I don’t do the lottery!! Hmm! That’s OK, Bob! I thought it was about time that I included a picture of Penny since she is mentioned in my posts quite a lot!

      Cheers

      John

    • Ha! Ha! Penny says ‘Hi’! She doesn’t blog and she doesn’t take photographs seriously – but she is very creative with all sorts of needlework and is a voracious reader! I have obviously shown her your work and her opinions agree totally with mine! Of the cities I have been to, Venice is the most beautiful in terms of walking (or floating) into a totally different world of history, intrigue and visual excess! I just love it! Xandre was saying that she and ‘he who must be…’ went there for a day on their European honeymoon and she was also captivated by the place! At the moment I am thinking about putting together an e-book about Venice with a mix of photographs and bits and pieces of banter and history but I have still to find out how to do this!

      Cheers

      John

  2. This city is so beautiful, it’s a dream city for photographers ! I so love these stripe poles, they add such a pop of colour. It really is an amazing city with beautiful architecture. Your photos are very beautiful, my favourite is the one looking through two gondolas toward the church, it’s such a great composition, I also love the second one, so beautiful. I would love to go during carnivale, it must be so spectacular ! How nice to see Penny !
    Have a nice week John !

Leave a Reply

