Ripon, England – Part 1

We have lived and worked in Ripon for 21 years and in all of that time I have taken very few photographs of this very small city that we call home. In reality, as you will see from the photographs here and those to come in future posts, it is actually a small town in size, but because it has a historical cathedral and was once a much more important place, it is classed as a Cathedral City! If you read my last post, you will be aware that we are moving back home to Scotland as soon as our house is sold and Penny (my other half) retires in the summer. With that in mind, I have decided to ‘document’ Ripon in terms of photographs over the next few months, so that we have a record of where we lived for so many years, and also so that others via this blog, can see what the city looks like now! I have already published a few photographs of Ripon in a previous post, ‘John’s Mega Awards Ceremony’, in case you would like to visit after viewing this post. Just click on the link when you are ready!

Ripon Town Hall at the southern end of the Market Square

Ripon Town Hall at the southern end of the Market Square

The east side of the Market Square

The east side of the Market Square

Royal Air Force Association office on Kirkgate

Royal Air Force Association office on Kirkgate

High Skellgate

High Skellgate

Some houses on High Skellgate

Some houses on High Skellgate

Ripon Bandstand in Spa Park

Ripon Bandstand in Spa Park

If you use Google Maps or Google Earth, on the hybrid setting (which gives you an overlaid, annotated map and satellite image), you should be able to match up the photographs to the map! These are just random images which over a number of posts will hopefully build up into a ‘picture’ of this lovely Yorkshire city! Thanks for visiting and I hope you come by again! Other posts can be accessed from the archives in the side column on the right!

Cheers!

John

3 thoughts on “Ripon, England – Part 1

    • Hi Karen – Hmm! That’s an interesting question and I would say the answer was no! It is the same lovely town we moved to, and that I have looked at in great detail since 1992! I just want the photographs so that I can remember the details whenever I want to once we have moved on! Like yourself, Penny and I tend to take time to see what we are looking at; colours, structures, patterns, details and appreciate it all! I take photographs to remember what I have seen in original detail before my memory ‘fuzzies it all up’ after the event! Oh what I would give for a photographic memory! I publish them just in case anyone else around the world would like to look at them and maybe appreciate them in the same way that I appreciate yours! Hope that answers your question, Karen?

      Cheers!

      John

Leave a Reply

