Mount Titlis, Switzerland – Part 2

My reasons for publishing this second Mount Titlis post are twofold. First of all, I love mountains, and the Mount Titlis Rotair cable car, and other cog railways and chairlifts are the only way I can experience being on the top of mountains taking lots of photographs. I am not a climber, have never been one, and have no wish to ever be one!

The second reason is more technical in nature and has to do with print sizes, so for those of you who want to avoid this section, you can go straight to the photographs!

In the last few years, I have been lucky enough to own and appreciate 3 digital SLR cameras. I first of all owned a Canon EOS 10D (6.3 megapixels, APS-C digital sensor) and then a Canon EOS 20D (8.2 megapixels, APS-C digital sensor). Both cameras produced great, pin sharp images, however, in the conversion from RAW to TIFF file types using Photoshop, the file sizes produced meant that the maximum print size that could be produced without starting to lose that pin sharp output was A3 (42cm x 29.7cm) size. I have always had an A3 printer, and for my required output, that has always been adequate. However, I have always wanted to be able to have the ability to produce large poster sized images if necessary.

My current camera is a Canon EOS 5D Mk II (21.1 megapixels, full-frame 35mm sensor) and this produces a huge file size when converted from RAW to TIFF file types. Using Photoshop once again, I could see by the rulers and detail on screen that the files should print up to A0 (118.9cm x 84.1cm) without loss of pin sharp output, but I had no way of putting this to the test!

Low and behold, what should happen recently but a new digital print shop opened up in the centre of Ripon, with the ability to print images up to and well above A0! Being keen to put one of my large file photographs to the test, and to test out the print shop itself, I decided to have the first image published in this post printed at A1 (84.1cm x 59.4cm) size. I was overwhelmed by the size, the quality and the pin sharp detail, right down to some little huts on the edge of the mountain lake, which hadn’t been noticeable in smaller prints!

I hope you like the photographs:

Mount_Titlis_076

Mount Graustock (in foreground to right) and Engstlensee (Lake)

The lake that you can just see in the middle of the photograph has some huts on its edge which can easily be seen on the A1 (84.1cm x 59.4cm) print.

Caterpillar Digger at 10,000ft!!

Caterpillar Digger at 10,000ft!!

I have seen Caterpillar Tractors in some strange places but never in a thousand years did I expect to find one here,…

Communications Tower at 10,000 ft!!

Communications Tower at 10,000 ft!!

…and some other unexpected technology,…

Cable Car Station and associated building levels of Klein Titlis at 10,000ft!!

Cable Car Station and associated building levels of Klein Titlis at 10,000ft!!

… and cafes, restaurants and shops!!

Trubsee Lake and Mount Huetstock

Trubsee Lake and Mount Huetstock

I suppose I shouldn’t really be surprised, considering the whole experience – the unparalleled views, the cafes, the restaurants, the shops, and for those who enjoy extreme sport – the climbing, snowboarding and skiing!

Thanks for dropping by and I hope you have enjoyed the photographs. You are more than welcome to stay a while and have a look at some more of my work.

You can access more of my photographs by:

THIS BLOG – Click on the ‘PHOTOGRAPHIC POSTS’ button on the menu at the top of the post. There you can choose to see posts listed by country, and then by place within that country. In the right hand column you can also sign up to receive e-mail notification of future posts as I publish them!

MY WEBSITE – This site is mainly photographic. From the initial screen, which scrolls through a few of my photographs as a taster, you can select PORTFOLIO, choose a COUNTRY, and a PLACE and then select individual photographs to look at from the thumbnail bar. Scrolling over each photograph using your mouse will bring up a caption about the image being viewed. Click this link www.johnstirlingphotography.com to go to the website now, or access it later by clicking the link under the ‘Check out my Website’ caption at the top of the right hand column of the blog. There, you can view my photographs at your leisure!

SEND FREE E-MAIL POSTCARDS TO YOUR FRIENDS, RELATIVES ETC. – When you have accessed my website and reached the individual images of your choice, you can access my online shop (PHOTOMOTO), where you can send free e-mail postcards of your selected image, or images, to any of your friends! This facility is completely free and is made available to open up access of my work to a wider audience – you get to send free e-mail postcards with quality images to your friends and I benefit from a wider audience!

Cheers until next time!

John

One thought on “Mount Titlis, Switzerland – Part 2

Leave a Reply

