Forth Rail Bridge, Scotland

It has been over a year since I posted and I must say that I am a little apprehensive about doing so. Can I remember how to create a post? Will it be any good? Will people like my latest photographs? Should I even try, just in case I am pulled away again by other demands? Having thought about it, I suppose that time in a blog doesn’t really matter, apart from people wondering what has happened to you and if you are still in the land of the living? So, here I am, back again, fit and healthy, still retired and two stone lighter for this venture back into posting! As regards the loss of weight, this is purely through walking! It is the best diet I know of! Penny (my other half) and I, are now both retired, we have moved back home to Scotland, but not to the west coast as we thought, but to the east! We have bought a house 5 miles south of where we lived before we moved south to England 29 years ago, and we are loving it!

I have chosen to publish a few new photographs of the famous Forth Rail Bridge for this ‘returning’ post (I can easily access the bridge from home in 15 minutes), particularly since it could shortly become a World Heritage Site! Hope you like them!

A Misty Forth Rail Bridge taken from St David's Bay.

A Misty Forth Rail Bridge taken from St David’s Bay.

You can see the Forth Road Bridge Suspension Tower sunlit in the background.

You can see the Forth Road Bridge Suspension Tower sunlit in the background.

The Forth Rail Bridge from North Queensferry.

The Forth Rail Bridge from North Queensferry.

The Forth Rail Bridge looms over North Queensferry.

The Forth Rail Bridge looms over North Queensferry.

Inter City and local trains cross the bridge to reach Edinburgh and the South.

Inter City and local trains cross the bridge to reach Edinburgh and the South.

The Cantilever built Forth Rail Bridge.

The Cantilever built Forth Rail Bridge.

The Forth Rail Bridge is of cantilever design and was completed on 4th March 1880! For my American friends, that is the same year as the Gunfight at the O.K. Corral in Tombstone, Arizona Territory! Quite an engineering feat at that time!

Well, I hope you have enjoyed this post? Click this link, Forth Bridges, Scotland, if you would like to see some earlier photographs of the bridges! Thank you for visiting my blog and hope you visit again!

Cheers!

John

4 thoughts on “Forth Rail Bridge, Scotland

  1. What a nice surprise to see a post from you and to hear you are well, as well as your wife Penny 🙂
    I always enjoy your posts and photographs and even if you have time for only a post a year I’ll gladly
    enjoy looking at it 🙂 A new house is always an exciting project, it’s great you could find one you love and
    close to where you lived before. What beautiful photos of this bridge John, the first one is really superb.
    Your posts are beautiful and interesting and I enjoyed this one too.
    Welcome back to the blogging community and hope to see more from you this year.
    Happy new year to you and your other half Penny !

    • Hi Jocelyne – Great to hear from you and thanks for liking the photographs! The first one has had a bit of sepia toning added to it to give it a better look! We have had a very busy year and a half back in Scotland, getting involved socially with old and new friends, and doing lots of walking! We have seen so much that we never saw when we were living and working here many years ago! Being very patriotic, we were also here in time to vote for Scottish independence but that was not to be! Penny’s elderly folks live within 10 mins of us and since we moved they have not had good health (he is 91 and she is 86) so we have also spent lots of time on family! I stopped taking photographs for quite a while during the move period and afterwards and have just recently started again! I fully intend to maintain the blog in future so look out for many more posts! It is definitely more difficult to get going again when you have been away for a while, so I must try not to let that happen again! I am really pleased that you have contacted me again and hopefully we can once again enjoy each other’s posts and messages!

      Cheers, Jocelyne!

      John

      • Sometimes many things in our lives gets in the way to our blogging, I’m really happy to see you back and I’m looking forward to your beautiful posts 🙂

Leave a Reply

